Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Converting Slides And Pictures To Digital


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#16 bgkid2966 OFFLINE  

bgkid2966

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8254
  • 1,407 Thanks
  • 1,327 posts
  • Location: Aurora, Illinois

Posted May 03, 2012 - 08:45 AM

My scanner is a stand alone for doing just slide/negatives. It does not have any software to mess with. It scans direct to a memory card and then just transfer into pc.

Geno
  • HowardsMF155 said thank you

#17 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted May 03, 2012 - 08:46 AM

have you tried scanning them? some scanners are able to copy slides and/or negitive strips, they have a holder for them.
a good old program for editing them is 20/20 from http://www.sofotex.c...nload_L230.html
it is free to download and use. I have been using it from around 1990 and it is still one of the best out there.
it can take slides (negitives) and change them into positives

Do you know what the resolution is?

#18 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted May 03, 2012 - 08:47 AM

My scanner is a stand alone for doing just slide/negatives. It does not have any software to mess with. It scans direct to a memory card and then just transfer into pc.

Geno

Can you tell me what model it is?

#19 bgkid2966 OFFLINE  

bgkid2966

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8254
  • 1,407 Thanks
  • 1,327 posts
  • Location: Aurora, Illinois

Posted May 03, 2012 - 11:19 AM

It is a Wolverine F2D. I have had it for a couple of years and finally got started on the project. Here is a link to it on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co...36061862&sr=8-1


I hope this helps, there are more models of them there also.

Geno
  • HowardsMF155 said thank you

#20 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted May 03, 2012 - 11:27 AM

I have had a couple of Visioneer scanners that had a slide attachment.
Let me check on the suggested resolution.

#21 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted May 03, 2012 - 11:32 AM

Check page 24 they suggest starting at 1200 dpi and 2700dpi for best results.
http://support.visio...tall.OT3.EN.pdf
  • HowardsMF155 said thank you

#22 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted May 03, 2012 - 08:40 PM

Check page 24 they suggest starting at 1200 dpi and 2700dpi for best results.
http://support.visio...tall.OT3.EN.pdf

Good info there ducky, thanks

#23 lyall OFFLINE  

lyall

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2180
  • 1,747 Thanks
  • 1,398 posts
  • Location: State Center, Iowa

Posted May 03, 2012 - 10:28 PM

remember the higher you set the dpi (dots per inch) the more disk or memory is used.
using the higher setting only if you need to make a larger print out - like poster size.

#24 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted May 04, 2012 - 04:45 AM

remember the higher you set the dpi (dots per inch) the more disk or memory is used.
using the higher setting only if you need to make a larger print out - like poster size.


Good thought lyall. Also just scan only the area you need to hold down that memory usage not the whole scanner bed surface.




Top