Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Not The Best, But Easiest & Good


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,584 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted May 01, 2012 - 02:23 PM

I have a friend at the office who has only recently bought her first computer for home. She got an HP Laptop (end of what she knows about it) from Staples. She asked me what anti-virus she should buy or is there a better way than the $50 stuff Staples was selling.

I told her about AVG, Anti-Vir, Avast... but am thinking MSE might be a good fit. She doesn't want to have to think about it, or remember to do a 10 step process once a week. I've never worked with MSE, but have heard good things & understand it's pretty much automatic in all regards (updates, scans, etc)

If she does go this route, is there any weak spots that I could suggest an add-on?

Thanks for the assist- Alan

#2 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,353 Thanks
  • 39,630 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted May 01, 2012 - 02:37 PM

I've been using MSE for about 9 months and no problem. Main thing with Windows based computers is to clean the system several times a week. I use CCleaner and Advanced System Care Pro. Seems to keep this old 2001 computer going.
  • MH81 and caseguy have said thanks

#3 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,152 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted May 01, 2012 - 02:55 PM

Been using MSE on two computers for several months and every once in awhile I'll check to see what has been removed. Other than that no computer maintenance other than cleaning the screen when it gets dusty.

Bill
  • MH81 and caseguy have said thanks

#4 OldBuzzard ONLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,478 Thanks
  • 4,632 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted May 01, 2012 - 04:02 PM

... Main thing with Windows based computers is to clean the system several times a week. ...


Since she has a a new system it will have Windows 7 on it and that isn't necessary. It's much better at keeping the OS clean than the earlier versions of Windows. Not ony that, but 7 does defragging of the hard drive(s) and other optimizing in the background where you don't see it happening.

Just have her install MSE, and let it do it's thing. As long as she lets Windows Update run automatically, it will keep MSE up to date.

I've been using MSE since it was in beta, and as far as I'm concerned, it the best and easiest anti-virus/anti malware application out there.

Once it's installed, you almost never know it's there unless it catches something and notifies you.

Edited by OldBuzzard, May 01, 2012 - 04:06 PM.

  • MH81, caseguy and Bruce Dorsi have said thanks

#5 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted May 01, 2012 - 04:28 PM

Another vote for MSE from me as well. Especially on a newer system and especially one running windows 7. Almost all anti virus programs slow a system down. Some more then others but to be honest I can't even tell MSE is installed on the computers I use it on.
  • caseguy said thank you

#6 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,584 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted May 01, 2012 - 05:50 PM

Well, that pretty much seals it for me. I'll let her know what the general consensus is and help her put it on the machine.

#7 Trav1s ONLINE  

Trav1s

    Got points?

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 5472
  • 2,601 Thanks
  • 3,750 posts
  • Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

Posted May 01, 2012 - 06:09 PM

Got it running on three Win7 machines at home, two of which are on the internet regularly. Also running it on two machines at the church and it has been good for me. This comes from a long time AVG/Avast user.
  • MH81 said thank you

#8 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted May 04, 2012 - 11:16 AM

when i used windows i always used avg or avast along with sygate firewall.

#9 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted May 04, 2012 - 03:07 PM

Avg used to be the best free anti virus a couple years ago. Now Avast is better then AVG and MSE seems to be better then all of them. I used to not run an anti virus at all because no matter how fast of a machine you had you still noticed it slow down. Then I got hacked once and ever since then I started using anti virus. I found out about MSE and installed it and couldn't even tell it was there. Haven't had any issues since.
  • GTTinkerer said thank you

#10 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted May 04, 2012 - 06:44 PM

does MSE have a firewall built in?

#11 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted May 04, 2012 - 06:51 PM

does MSE have a firewall built in?


I am pretty sure it uses the built in windows firewall on the system.

#12 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,210 Thanks
  • 28,584 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted May 04, 2012 - 07:02 PM

Well, I'm trying it on my work rig as my boss is interested also. I told him that I'll have to give it a workout and surf some "adult" sites... I got one of those sideways glances just to make sure I was joking.

So far, it's pretty low impact on the system performance.

#13 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

    Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,556 Thanks
  • 29,818 posts
  • Location: South Central Kentucky

Posted May 04, 2012 - 07:04 PM

I am pretty sure it uses the built in windows firewall on the system.


I also think it uses the built in system.

#14 dogsoldier OFFLINE  

dogsoldier
  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 9589
  • 316 Thanks
  • 490 posts
  • Location: mt union pa

Posted May 04, 2012 - 09:10 PM

if its anything like it was in xp then i think i would download another one. if you use a hardware firewall like in a router then you may not need one but if not i would get one. thats just me tho. i have a hardware firewall and one on my 2 linux machines and the wifes xp laptop.

#15 ducky ONLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,623 Thanks
  • 3,860 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted May 08, 2012 - 09:11 AM

Yes, MSE use the built in Windows firewall.




Top