• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 martyinmi OFFLINE  

martyinmi
  • Member No: 9516
  • 4 Thanks
  • 12 posts

Posted April 16, 2012 - 10:16 PM

What a great site you folks have! I'm honored to be a newbie here.

I recently traded a 30 pack of Busch Light for a non running 4018 with a RM60 deck.
It had been sitting for 6 years, the last 3 outside.
I flushed the fuel tank,put on a new fuel line, fuel pump, and filter,cleaned the carb,added a new air filter,battery,throttle cable, and changed the oil and filter. I cranked it for 20-30 seconds ant it took off and ran. It runs great. This is my first experience with an Onan, and so far I'm impressed.
I went to my local dealer today and bought 6 new bearings for the deck(tomorrows project), and also ordered a new grille.
Parts appear to be quite expensive from the dealer. Is there a place where I can get a few more items(lights,decals,tie rod ends,etc.) at a more reasonable price?

I hope you all don't mind me hanging around here from time to time. I've been reading older posts for a couple hours now, and It's clear there are a lot of intelligent, well informed people who hang out here.

Thanks,

Marty

#2 Delmar OFFLINE  

Delmar
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5039
  • 2,316 Thanks
  • 2,412 posts

Posted April 17, 2012 - 12:28 AM

Welcome to GTt Marty, I am glad you found this web site. There are a great bunch of folks here. Got any questions? Just ask. Got any answers? post them.

You have a really good garden tractor. You can learn more about it here and by typing in case ingersoll 4018 in any search engine. There are several sites on the web that have attachments, parts, etc. Joe's on ebay usually has good parts available too.

Yes, new parts for case tractors can get expensive. Shop around and compare prices, watch out for over-priced shipping.