sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4776
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts

Posted April 14, 2012 - 10:46 AM

I bought this D4-7 with the rear transaxle in parts.....there were new bearings, gears, etc in the box. The pictures below are after I had cleaned and sorted most of the parts. This is my first time putting back together a transmission.......so I am needing some guidance......I will do this in a couple of threads so not to confuse the questions. First pictures are of the parts as I start.

Attached Thumbnails

• BHD47rearendparts1.JPG
  • BHD47REARENDPARTS3.JPG
  • BHD47transaxleparts4.JPG
  • BHRearEndParts2.JPG

Edited by sacsr, April 14, 2012 - 10:51 AM.

#2 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts

Posted April 14, 2012 - 10:50 AM

First issue. When working on the pinion shaft.....I noticed the collar was not sliding up and down on the woodruff keys and locking up like it should....it will got forward easy but wants to lock up going back toward the pinion gear. I am guessing this is the "high - low" choice for the transaxle......if I am right do I take it apart and put in new woodruff keys?? Screwdriver points in woodruff key that seems to be holding it up from moving toward the gear.

Attached Thumbnails

• BHD47pinioncollar1.JPG

#3 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts

Posted April 14, 2012 - 10:53 AM

Issue number 2:

Cam shift guide (S1033) seems to be pretty worn.....anybody replaced one??

Attached Thumbnails

• BHD47shftcamguideworn.JPG
  • BHD47shiftcamguideworn2.JPG

#4 sacsr OFFLINE  

sacsr

Bush Hog Addict

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • 3,268 Thanks
  • 3,283 posts

Posted April 14, 2012 - 10:55 AM

Issue #3