9 replies to this topic

#1 redraider14450 OFFLINE  

redraider14450
  • Member No: 9412
  • 0 Thanks
  • 3 posts

Posted April 10, 2012 - 09:58 AM

Hello,
I am a newbie to this site so here goes... I just inherited a nice old Massey MF-7 lawn tractor. It has a snow blower attachment and a mower deck. Good part, the engine is fine. No issues. The bad, the chassis is rolling okay but the related parts are in a box that the owner's son used to collect them as he took it apart. Why I'm not totally sure. The axle is intact and appears fine along with all the steering gear and wheels. My question is where do I get detailed pictorials of how the various springs, rods, bolts etc go together and where do you all suggest I start for parts if I need them. I did get some help from the local M-F dealer and I downloaded the available manuals and such on this site. They don't give enough detail to help.
FYI I am a retired shop teacher and this project is well within my talent. I've heard that this unit is a bear and worth the attention.
Thanks to all in advance.

Redraider14450

Edited by redraider14450, April 10, 2012 - 10:01 AM.

#2 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted April 10, 2012 - 10:11 AM

Welcome to the forum! I have an MF8G which is nearly identical to the 7 other than the engine size. Do you have a hydro or a gear drive 7? I have some pictures of mine in various states of disassembly which I can send to you. However my machine is gear drive. Do you have the parts diagrams? I think they are available online at agcopartsbooksdot com. The old MF's are a great little tractor and very well made compared to most of the new mowers available these days.

#3 HowardsMF155 OFFLINE  

HowardsMF155

Tractorholic

• Member No: 4243
  • 2,699 Thanks
  • 2,916 posts

Posted April 10, 2012 - 10:13 AM