jdslednut

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 77
  • 636 Thanks
  • 837 posts

Posted April 09, 2012 - 12:08 AM

Looks like I'm picking up a Raider 14 here soon. I'm new to the world of Wheel Horses and would like to know the differences in the Bronco, Raider, and Charger models. A quick description would suffice - I'm sure I learn much more as I go. That's what make this hobby fun! Pictures may be in the future.

#2 jdslednut ONLINE  

jdslednut

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • 636 Thanks
  • 837 posts

Posted April 09, 2012 - 12:10 AM

Should have listed a specific. I'm looking to possibly get a sleeve hitch (clevis hitch from what I have seen) to slap a plow on this machine eventually. Which models or from what models would fit a Raider 14?

#3 jusjeepn OFFLINE  

jusjeepn

• Member No: 2392
  • 84 Thanks
  • 120 posts

Posted April 09, 2012 - 12:55 AM

Raiders, built 1968-1972, are all 8 speeds w/ manual lift. Chargers, built 1968-1972, are all hydro's w/ manual lift and some came factory with the electric clutch. W/H built the Charger line w/ 7-12hp engines on them. Bronco's, built 1971-1972, were the top of the line taking the place of the Electro 12 which was built 1968-1970. They are Hydros w/ hydraulic lit and electric clutches standard equip. 1971 Bronco's had the push/pull choke and throttle control while the 1972 had the slide type controls. Raider 14's are kinda rare built only in 1972 with the 14hp Kohler. Here are some examples:

My Raider 14

Posted Image

This was my Dad's Charger 10

Posted Image

My Bronco 14

Posted Image

One of four of my Electro's

Posted Image

The clevis hitch from any year will fit but they are expensive, especially this time of year! You can get one of these slot hitch adapter's for around $50 on ebay, and they actually are a whole lot more stable than the clevis hitch.

Posted Image

Edited by jusjeepn, April 09, 2012 - 01:11 AM.

#4 ckjakline OFFLINE  

ckjakline