• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 kitepilot OFFLINE  

kitepilot
  • Member No: 9349
  • 0 Thanks
  • 18 posts

Posted April 04, 2012 - 11:20 PM

I am a Newbie here! So be kind.. haha Well I decided to get the old girl out and get her running again. 8 years ago it stopped while I was mowing, I could not get it started, I was working at the time and did not have time to work on it. But I did a few things checked for spark, it has spark but not real hot, fuel tank Line and filter all cleaned and or new. But still could not get her to start. So I bought a new Sears, So after 8 years I pulled her out checked for spark and it was still a bit weak, put some gas into the cylinder and she fired up. She has good compression does not use any oil to speak of but is still running rough.

Does anyone have to know what the correct plug should be? Right now I am using a Champion J8 long. Maybe the wrong one?

Any other suggestions would be a great help.

I did go to a local mower shop but they were not even interested, what happened to the good old boys that use to fix things....

Thanks for any help..

#2 chris m ONLINE  

chris m

Tractorholic

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,277 Thanks
  • 4,033 posts

Posted April 04, 2012 - 11:32 PM

I am a Newbie here! So be kind.. haha Well I decided to get the old girl out and get her running again. 8 years ago it stopped while I was mowing, I could not get it started, I was working at the time and did not have time to work on it. But I did a few things checked for spark, it has spark but not real hot, fuel tank Line and filter all cleaned and or new. But still could not get her to start. So I bought a new Sears, So after 8 years I pulled her out checked for spark and it was still a bit weak, put some gas into the cylinder and she fired up. She has good compression does not use any oil to speak of but is still running rough.