Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Sickle Mower


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 DH1 ONLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted March 23, 2012 - 09:54 PM

Massey MF1450, 1650, 1655, 1855 came with optional 3 point lift and 540rpm PTO.

Is it possible to put a Sickle bar mower for a full size farm tractor on one of these Massey GTs?

#2 trowel OFFLINE  

trowel

    Summer.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5127
  • 4,819 Thanks
  • 4,533 posts
  • Location: ma.

Posted March 23, 2012 - 10:13 PM

I have never tried but would think the bar would be too much for the engine and tractor to handle, quite possibly one from a Farmall Cub might work.
The other guys more exerienced in this type should be able to advice you better then me.

#3 Alc ONLINE  

Alc

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,459 Thanks
  • 6,629 posts
  • Location: Bangor Pa

Posted March 24, 2012 - 04:52 AM

Doug could one like this work ,? It has a trailing wheel to take the weight , Al


http://scranton.crai...2898919919.html

Edited by Alc, March 24, 2012 - 04:59 AM.


#4 massey driver OFFLINE  

massey driver

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 75
  • 1,076 Thanks
  • 1,445 posts
  • Location: Mainitoba Canada

Posted March 24, 2012 - 08:47 AM

I don't see why one wouldn't work.You could always cut the bar down to say 48" or ???. You wouldn't have to leave it full length.The other thing if its too long it would tend to make the tractor want to slide sideways also be tougher to steer. One with a trailing wheel would take all or most of the weight off the 3 pth if thats how you were going to be mounting it. Also the other thing is most of the mowers have some sort of belt drive so even with the 1655 rear pto speed you could change the one pulley on the mower to change the speed as well. You do have a few options if you really want to make it work its doable.Larry
  • DH1 said thank you

#5 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,632 Thanks
  • 3,870 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted March 24, 2012 - 09:00 AM

Doug,as Larry stated you should be able to make it work. 540 is the correct speed and I do not see any power problems




Top