• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 gbrown OFFLINE  

gbrown

• Member No: 8021
  • 20 Thanks
  • 90 posts

Posted March 14, 2012 - 08:35 PM

I am new to GT's and recently purchased a Bolens 1050. It seems exceptionally loud to me. Would just replacing the little $6 muffler help, or should I proceed to fabricate something more effective? If replacing the stock one isn't going to make much of a difference, does anyone have any ideas on fabricating something more effective? I know a bit about engines and wouldn't want to create too much back pressure on the engine. Ideas?

#2 ncb OFFLINE  

ncb
  • Member No: 3755
  • 51 Thanks
  • 215 posts

Posted March 14, 2012 - 09:26 PM

{ does anyone have any ideas on fabricating something more effective? I know a bit about engines and wouldn't want to create too much back pressure on the engine. Ideas? } I have used stainless steel scourering pads from the dollar store to pack the inside of 2.5 inch auto ex pipe. u can pack it till it is quiet enough to suit your taste and its dollar store cheap.

#3 Bolens iseki OFFLINE  

Bolens iseki

• Member No: 4828
  • 2 Thanks
  • 11 posts

Posted March 14, 2012 - 10:51 PM

the 6 $ one will most likley work the one i use if made out of water pipe a little pice coming out of the engine block with a 45 degree then another peace to clear the hood then a muffler

#4 CASENUT OFFLINE  

CASENUT

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1974
  • 501 Thanks
  • 865 posts

Posted March 15, 2012 - 12:53 AM

you should have some 'baffle' in there somewhere, if you are after quiet, you're gonna need 1 and most probably 2 stainless baffles with the SS scouring pads packed between em...remember, how much air is processed in the combustion chamber = power...don't restrict it to much...

#5 ncb OFFLINE  

ncb
  • Member No: 3755
  • 51 Thanks
  • 215 posts

Posted March 15, 2012 - 02:16 AM