Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Could Not Find This Any Where Else


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted March 03, 2012 - 12:18 AM

On the old forum a poster could post the post and then had a minute or so to correct any obvious mistakesi it does not know about mistakes such as: having it read poorly and still not have the post read " Hey this guy or gal is an idiot". any chance of getting that back. I realize there are probably a few 60+ with no mistakes gals and maybe eve guys on here who can be perfect but I know with my 20 words or so with 10 errors leads to believe I am fairly stupid instead of just tired ans slow.

I take some pills after 10:00 PM and after that am plumb worn out and sleepy.

#2 Cvans OFFLINE  

Cvans

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 5412
  • 4,478 Thanks
  • 5,010 posts
  • Location: Eastern SD.

Posted March 03, 2012 - 01:27 AM

I know what you mean. I can reread my entry 6 times and not see any mistakes until I hit the "post" button. Then they show up every time. :(

#3 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted March 03, 2012 - 01:38 AM

I know what you mean. I can reread my entry 6 times and not see any mistakes until I hit the "post" button. Then they show up every time. :(



In very faint print, right beside the "MultiQuote" button, is the edit button.
  • MH81 said thank you

#4 mjodrey OFFLINE  

mjodrey

    Accumulator

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts
  • Location: Upper Granville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Posted March 03, 2012 - 05:24 AM

It's funny,but I can also look through my posts and not see mistakes.Sometimes I have to edit more than once in the same post,because I missed something the first ,and second time.It's not that I am a poor speller,but not good at typing,and sometimes my fingers seem to have a mind of their own. :smilewink:

#5 jpackard56 OFFLINE  

jpackard56

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7225
  • 1,768 Thanks
  • 1,407 posts
  • Location: S.E. Ohio

Posted March 03, 2012 - 06:39 AM

I'm actually glad that somebody else admits to going through that. It makes me feel more normal....Thanks fellas :smilewink:

#6 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted March 03, 2012 - 07:21 AM

I think the edit button is still there to the right left of the multi quote button as was noted above. Since I'm a moderator my setup is a bit different than a regular members. I always go back and proof read my posts but as others have said I am also using that edit function to find additional errors or clarify something. So Bill you have plenty of company on this issue!

Edited by KennyP, March 03, 2012 - 07:28 AM.
Edit in use. LOL


#7 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,413 Thanks
  • 39,663 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 03, 2012 - 07:27 AM

I think the original poster can edit at any time (could be wrong). The faint edit darkens as you move your mouse across the post.

#8 OldBuzzard OFFLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,481 Thanks
  • 4,633 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted March 03, 2012 - 07:35 AM

Yep..the EDIT button is there. I use it a LOT, because I have TYPO FAERIES living in my keyboard.

Danged things keep moving the keys around as I'm typing :mecry:

What's different is that with the old software, it didn't 'mark' your post as having been edited if you edited right after you posted.

This software 'marks it instantly.

#9 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted March 03, 2012 - 07:45 AM

OK, now I understand what you were getting at. I wasn't sure how the edit key appeared to members vs. what I see. I'm with you on the typing thing. I wish I had learned it when I was younger. It's hard to change form the old hunt and peck system!

Edited by JDBrian, March 03, 2012 - 07:46 AM.
fixed typo LOL!


#10 KennyP ONLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,413 Thanks
  • 39,663 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted March 03, 2012 - 07:48 AM

OldBuzzard, is there a check mark in the 'edit by' box? I have edited lots of posts getting smileys to work and haven't had them marked. In Brians above, I HAD to show it. LOL

#11 OldBuzzard OFFLINE  

OldBuzzard

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 805
  • 6,481 Thanks
  • 4,633 posts
  • Location: Oberlin, OH

Posted March 03, 2012 - 08:13 AM

Nope...that must be a "Moderator Option".

We peons :laughingteeth: just see an Edit box.

#12 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted March 03, 2012 - 08:15 AM

I went back and edited a post I made on the 26th of Feb.
The old software only allowed a few hours for editing, right?

#13 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted March 03, 2012 - 08:42 AM

Yes the old software was set for like 24 hours or something, now I can't remember the exact time but it is longer then that, maybe a week. I can check the setting to be sure and post it though.

#14 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,266 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted March 03, 2012 - 08:47 AM

I just checked the settings and senior members (100+ posts), site supporters, site sponsors don't have restrictions on the edit time. New members and members are restricted to 72 hours.
  • MH81, caseguy, Texas Deere and Horse and 2 others have said thanks

#15 jdcrawler OFFLINE  

jdcrawler

    tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1639
  • 3,173 Thanks
  • 1,724 posts
  • Location: Madison, Indiana

Posted March 03, 2012 - 09:31 AM

I'm getting along allright with the edit but I sure do miss the spell check.
It use to work on here but it doesn't any more.
I've asked about it a couple of times but it still doesn't work.

Edited by jdcrawler, March 03, 2012 - 09:33 AM.





Top