Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Just Got A Snapper 1650 A....not Sure Where To Go From Here.

• Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 Juneau OFFLINE  

Juneau
  • Member No: 8858
  • 7 Thanks
  • 53 posts

Posted February 29, 2012 - 08:04 PM

I got an old Snapper 1650 A from my dad. It was left at the house he recently purchased. It had been sitting up for 5 or 6 years. I am not a mechanic so I hired a friend to get it up and running and had another friend build me a blade to drag behind it. I will post pics later.

It depserately needs tires and I would like to go back with something a little more aggressive but I am not sure how "big" I can go. The front tires are currently 16s and the rear tires are 23.5s. They are the standard yard tires.

It has a mower deck with it that is in pretty good shape but when it is lifted all the way up the back is about 3 or 4 inches higher....the front is only 3 or so inches off of the ground so it drags and hangs up a lot when I am not on level ground. Any suggestions here?
Thanks,
Mark

#2 ckjakline OFFLINE  

ckjakline

Tractorholic

• Member No: 6073
  • 1,080 Thanks
  • 1,093 posts

Posted February 29, 2012 - 08:19 PM

I have a set of i believe they are 26-12x12 lug tires on the rear of my mf 14.They should also fit on your 1650.If you don't want that size rear tire you can put the size back on that was on it and use lug tires instead of turf tires.
  • Juneau said thank you

#3 caseguy OFFLINE  

caseguy

Connoisseur of Rusty Junk

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 906
  • 1,624 Thanks
  • 5,600 posts

Posted February 29, 2012 - 08:39 PM

:wave: juneau Welcome to GTTalk! That's a great tractor you've "inherited"! That should be a pretty decent size tractor and I imagine that 26" tires would be OK! I hope that you enjoy the forum and thanks for signing up!
  • Juneau said thank you

#4 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

Tractorholic