• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 8148
  • 3,275 Thanks
  • 4,031 posts

Posted February 21, 2012 - 09:59 PM

Hey all. I was just checking CL. and this tractor is on there in my Town. no pictures, just says Great condition, needs to be rewired and a new battery. Comes with the wiring and a new battery to install.48" deck included and the price is $350! Is this a good model Cub?

#2 KennyP OFFLINE  

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 27,587 Thanks
  • 38,983 posts

Posted February 22, 2012 - 05:40 AM

I have no experience with those. Probably could be a great machine with some TLC.

#3 mjodrey OFFLINE  

• Contributor
  • Member No: 92
  • 2,343 Thanks
  • 13,481 posts

Posted February 22, 2012 - 05:43 AM

Those were MTD built Cub Cadets.

#4 jpackard56 OFFLINE  

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7225
  • 1,748 Thanks
  • 1,393 posts

Posted February 22, 2012 - 07:04 AM

Pretty good grass mower...But won't be anywhere near the quality of the older machines. If you want a "Cub" to play with I'd look at the 82 series and back. The newer machines are more the "what can we put together just to get it out of warrenty type engineering" verses "we are proud of our product and it will last for many years with reasonable care" Good luck with the Jake's :thumbs:

#5 daytime dave OFFLINE  

daytime dave

Live long and prosper

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 531
  • 4,441 Thanks
  • 6,332 posts

Posted February 22, 2012 - 05:25 PM

It might be a good mower for that price or a little less. The 2000 series are not as well thought of in some circles. I've never used one.

I must agree with the previous advice. If you want a nice cub, get an 82 series and older.

I would certainly want to know why it has to be rewired.

#6 EricFromPa ONLINE  

• Contributor
  • Member No: 2135
  • 2,168 Thanks
  • 2,247 posts

Posted February 22, 2012 - 10:56 PM