• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Moosetales OFFLINE  

Always learning something!

• Member No: 8172
  • 1,088 Thanks
  • 1,284 posts

Posted January 31, 2012 - 12:21 AM

Good evening. I'm new to the tractor world so this thread will be an easy one (I expect) for all you seasoned tractor aficionados out there. I've run into two dilemmas:

#1--While working to attach my new reverse light I came across a mystery wire behind my console. Any guesses as to what this goes to?

#2--Shortly after acquiring my '74 JD 110 I realized the wheels needed a good cleaning. In the process I noticed that the valve stems on the front tires were on the inside. Being the novice I immediately passed judgement on the previous owner as being misguided; I promptly cleaned, greased and re-installed the wheels only to then be surfing the web and found that many JD tractors had indeed the same ailment as mine had. So, my quandary persists...What is the "proper" positioning for the valve stems on the front tires and what are the pros and cons of both options?

Before Before After

Well, there you have it. I hope this takes some of you back to the days you purchased your first tractor and everything was a mystery. Thanks for the help.

Attached Thumbnails

• 3.jpg
  • 1.jpg

#2 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,461 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts

Posted January 31, 2012 - 12:29 AM

Matthew, The wire is for an accessory, like a cigarette lighter or for ele. clutch.. Valve stems are to the inside so you don't knock them out of the wheel when you rub up against something, just added protection inside the wheel. I hope this helps.

#3 JDBrian OFFLINE  

Super Moderator

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts

Posted January 31, 2012 - 11:06 AM