Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

Anyone planning changes to their gardens for this year ?

• Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 Alc OFFLINE  

Alc

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1094
  • 5,446 Thanks
  • 6,611 posts

Posted January 28, 2012 - 08:32 AM

I think I'll try moving the strawberries from the one end to anew spot , they used to do well there but the last couple of years not so hot , at the opposite end are the raspberries and those too havn't been producing as well either . I'm going to try mulching more both with the sorghum grass for weeds and plastic for warmth the melons need .

#2 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts

Posted January 28, 2012 - 08:46 AM

I am still learning alot about gardening and what grows good here. I have two garden plots an upper and lower. I am planning on lots of tomatoes this year. I normally dont plant any at all because we dont eat them plain, they have to be in something salsa, sauce, etc.. I have decided to try and use some of the canning recipes for the tomatoes and thats the reason I am going to plant them this year. I try to limit our garden to stuff we can preserve. I Hate seeing plants go to waste because we cant eat all of them or they go bad before I can get them canned.

Anybody got good sauce. salsa etc.. canning recipes?

#3 Lovintractorin OFFLINE  

Lovintractorin

Tinkerer

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 4180
  • 159 Thanks
  • 603 posts

Posted January 28, 2012 - 09:00 AM

We are going to expand some and plant more out in the field than last year. We still need to spread compost out there. Hopefully we can get some good root crops going.