• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Marshall OFFLINE  

Marshall

• Member No: 8369
  • 0 Thanks
  • 5 posts

Posted January 25, 2012 - 03:04 PM

I am just getting started fixing up this tractor - I already replaced the transmission drive belts and pulley. It was moving slower forward than in reverse, so I adjusted the pedal. Now the problem is worse. My question is, Should there be some limit on the rotation of the control lever on the hydro unit (Sundstrand)? I can rotate it so it points upward. Also, I can pull it out sideways until it hits the frame of the tractor. I am wondering if this is evidence that the internal pin is broken (as was touched on in another post)? Thanks!

#2 olcowhand ONLINE  

olcowhand

Red Tractor Nut & Diesel Addict

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Sponsor
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 20
  • 35,588 Thanks
  • 29,831 posts

Posted January 25, 2012 - 03:14 PM

Oh my...sounds like the internal pins are broken or backed out. Not good, but fixable.

#3 TUDOR OFFLINE  

TUDOR

Tractorholic

• Member No: 915
  • 543 Thanks
  • 497 posts

Posted January 25, 2012 - 03:39 PM

No biggy, but not good.

The roll pins that hold the swash plate to the trunnion shaft have worked themselves out. Remove and disassemble the hydro. Replace the worn pins with 2 pins the same length as the originals.

Reference pages 5 and 20 for an overview. They don't show the internals, but they're not difficult.

http://www.sauer-dan...re/bln-9646.pdf

The motor section is bolted to the pump section with 4 bolts. Split the 2 sections, remove the piston carrier, and the swash plate is next. You should be able to see the pin holes. The pins drive back into a dimple in the casting, one at a time, and can be then removed with needle nose pliers. Drive 2 new pins in flush, and put it back together. Check the pins on the other side.