Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Again, doing battle with Tec HH120 w/Walbro LME


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted January 19, 2012 - 08:10 AM

I just can't get this one figured out.

Here's what I've done so far.
Soaked carb 24hrs.-cleaned out twice with wire and air
New float needle and seat.
New float
New service nozzle
Decarbonized head, new head gasket, new carb gasket.
Fires and runs on Quick start with carb off.
Checked SSI gap-.008"
Adjusted governor linkage as per service manual.
Sprayed quickstart at carb while running, no change

In the video, it's running(surging) at full throttle w/no choke.
At idle w/half choke.

When I set the float height, I couldn't get it to the 1/8" spec'd, but close (3/16 or so).
I've checked the float needle seat twice. It's all the way in, and retained with
that little clip. Useing the needle that has the stepped tip. The tab on the float
is bent flat down:confuse:

Help please.



#2 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted January 19, 2012 - 10:56 AM

Will, it seems to me that it is not getting fuel though the idle circuit or an air leak. How are the throttle shaft bushings?
  • IamSherwood said thank you

#3 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 19, 2012 - 11:50 AM

I was thinking an air leak as well. when you say "Sprayed quickstart at carb while running, no change" what does that mean? Did you just spray in just a general direction or did you spray more directly like at the base of the carb and the manifold.
  • IamSherwood said thank you

#4 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted January 20, 2012 - 12:48 AM

Throttle shaft is good and tight.
When I sprayed quick start, I sprayed directly at the base , and the throttle shaft.

#5 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted January 20, 2012 - 04:45 AM

I am not LME expert but almost has to be the idle circuit. Can we try a different carb to try to narrow this down.
  • IamSherwood said thank you

#6 DH1 OFFLINE  

DH1

    Electric Tractors

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 62
  • 4,587 Thanks
  • 5,295 posts
  • Location: Markham Ontario Canada

Posted January 20, 2012 - 06:14 AM

Things to try

- Get the float set 1/8", use a different float needle, they had different types, yours might be miss matched, seat and needle.

- Remove high and low adjustable needles, spray carb cleaner in them, use air compressor blow gun with the rubber end and blast the 2 ports on the carb.

-Get the engine running high speed with all the air cleaner assembly off, hold the palm of you hand over the end of the carb to make an air tight seal for 1 sec or so, not so long to stall the engine out, do that 2 or 3 times, it puts a high vacum in all the passages and might suck the crap out.
  • ducky, Alc, IamSherwood and 3 others have said thanks

#7 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted January 20, 2012 - 06:49 AM

Things to try

- Get the float set 1/8", use a different float needle, they had different types, yours might be miss matched, seat and needle.

- Remove high and low adjustable needles, spray carb cleaner in them, use air compressor blow gun with the rubber end and blast the 2 ports on the carb.

-Get the engine running high speed with all the air cleaner assembly off, hold the palm of you hand over the end of the carb to make an air tight seal for 1 sec or so, not so long to stall the engine out, do that 2 or 3 times, it puts a high vacum in all the passages and might suck the crap out.




Ducky, I tried a NOS carb on it last night. Runs great. I'd use that new one on there, but the choke and throttle linkages are different. I'm kicking around the idea
of makeing up little adaptor plates, so I can use that NOS carb.

First I'll give it one more try, as per doug's suggestions. I'm leaning towards it being the float adjustment. I know the passages are clear, as I used a small tube
and blew smoke through, and it came out everywhere it should. I have a bag full of misc. carb pcs. Maybe I can find a shorter needle for the float.

#8 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 20, 2012 - 07:05 AM

Will, how about taking the NOS carb apart and see what needle it has for the float. Might answer some of your questions about this one. Maybe use that float and needle in the old one and see how it works with that.

#9 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted January 20, 2012 - 07:33 AM

Will, how about taking the NOS carb apart and see what needle it has for the float. Might answer some of your questions about this one. Maybe use that float and needle in the old one and see how it works with that.



Thought of that too Kenny, but with the luck I have with these Walbro carbs, that isn't going to happen.
I've done all the carbs on my Kohlers, and every time, I rebuild one, set it as per specs, and presto, they work.
But these Walbro things just don't like me. I doubt it has the needle in it I might need anyways. I think it's a
newer style, judging by the choke plate design. The one that's giving me grief, I don't think has ever been apart. It had
original 1968 paint on the bowl gasket.

The one thing that puzzles me, is that the needle I took out of it, is the same length as the new one. Was there an older float design
that had longer arms for the pin?

#10 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 20, 2012 - 08:15 AM

Can't answer that, Will. Haven't been around one of these engines in years.

#11 coldone OFFLINE  

coldone

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 839
  • 1,631 Thanks
  • 1,668 posts
  • Location: Central NC

Posted January 20, 2012 - 09:38 AM

Use sand paper and a flat surface, check the base of the carb for flatness.
Idle and half choke means air is getting in come where.
Cant remember for sure but i think the throttle butterfly plate has to be a certain way, one way closes off the throttle more than the other.
If you still have the original main jet, make your own service jet. Chuck it in a drill and use a small file to create the "band" around the idle hole.
Check welch plugs.

#12 IamSherwood OFFLINE  

IamSherwood

    Elf guardian

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2066
  • 8,379 Thanks
  • 7,696 posts
  • Location: Northern Ontario

Posted January 20, 2012 - 10:47 AM

Victory.
It was the float setting.
I couldn't find a needle that was short enough, so I ground down the head a bit on one, and got the float set to 1/8".

Now it works again.

Thanks for all the input guys.
  • DH1 and Toolpartzman have said thanks

#13 KennyP OFFLINE  

KennyP

    FORDoholic

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2253
  • 28,461 Thanks
  • 39,690 posts
  • Location: Collinsville, Oklahoma

Posted January 20, 2012 - 11:01 AM

Glad to hear that Will! Hope it works fine for you.

#14 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,709 Thanks
  • 8,563 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted January 20, 2012 - 11:24 AM

Glad you got it working. Isn't great to be able to put a problem out there and get back so many good input's to help solve a the problem.

#15 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,630 Thanks
  • 3,869 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted January 20, 2012 - 11:36 AM

That's great Will.




Top