Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

single cylinder analog tachometer


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#16 brokenbudget OFFLINE  

brokenbudget

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 4529
  • 19 Thanks
  • 178 posts

Posted January 19, 2012 - 07:44 AM

I tried a TinyTach on my Kohler and it was all over the place it was getting interference from the ignition system somewhere.


were you using a length of wire from it? or just the tach over the plug?
i use the sendec on my wheelhorse 312 with the wire with zero problems, however if i use my etd8 (stihl edt 8 tach) over the plug i get the same results as you.:shoot2:

#17 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

    Ron Paul

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts
  • Location: Milwaukee

Posted January 19, 2012 - 03:42 PM

You can use a tach off a harley with points

#18 brokenbudget OFFLINE  

brokenbudget

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 4529
  • 19 Thanks
  • 178 posts

Posted January 19, 2012 - 03:57 PM

You can use a tach off a harley with points


you know, i was thinking that last night:D the cylinders fire at the same time, they're a bettery ignition, and are about the size i would need. plus, they would have the backlighting and sort of 'water resistant' feature i like when snow bowing after dark.
thanks for the reminder!:beerchug:

#19 Amigatec OFFLINE  

Amigatec

    Collector of Rusty Junk

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5899
  • 2,023 Thanks
  • 3,172 posts
  • Location: Haskell Oklahoma

Posted January 19, 2012 - 04:20 PM

were you using a length of wire from it? or just the tach over the plug?
i use the sendec on my wheelhorse 312 with the wire with zero problems, however if i use my etd8 (stihl edt 8 tach) over the plug i get the same results as you.:shoot2:



I was using the wire around the plug wire. I think the problem was the points arcing just a tiny bit. I have one on my standby generator and it works good

#20 brokenbudget OFFLINE  

brokenbudget

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 4529
  • 19 Thanks
  • 178 posts

Posted January 19, 2012 - 06:07 PM

I was using the wire around the plug wire. I think the problem was the points arcing just a tiny bit. I have one on my standby generator and it works good


could be the point flaring, never experienced that making a tach act up, but possible.:smile1:

i figured i could use this: Equus - Products - 6086 2-1/2

it's way cheaper than the 'msrp'. i can have it for 35-40 bucks depending on where i buy it from. has the inductive pick-up, so it don't really matter how many cylinders you
have:shoot2: just ain't weather proof, but that can be fixed also:smile1:




Top