skyrydr2

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 5032
  • 3,409 Thanks
  • 3,159 posts

Posted January 07, 2012 - 05:23 PM

Well , had an issue today with my powersteering pump, seems it Hung the internal relief up again ... Second time was the end of this issue! It was a used pump and this was why it was replaced I think ? Anyhow I fixed it good this time, basically eliminated it! All the items it powers have built in reliefs set to specs for their circuits.
Let me tell you this .... It has volume and pressure now! It will shut that Kubota diesel off right now ! And its just a tiny little pump, but man does it work nice!
This is what the rock crawler folks do to their pumps. I've been doing it for many years retroing powersteering to tractors and plow pumps on pickups and it definately makes um what they ain't :thumbs:

#2 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

Proud to be Deplorable

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 27,281 Thanks
  • 28,616 posts

Posted January 07, 2012 - 06:04 PM

Glad you found an end-around for the problem. As long as there are safety features in place, tripple redundant isn't necessary

#3 TUDOR OFFLINE  

TUDOR

Tractorholic

• Member No: 915
  • 543 Thanks
  • 497 posts

Posted January 07, 2012 - 07:45 PM

A word of caution for the folks that don't know, skyrydr2. Most of these pumps have a design that will support up to about 1500 psi. If your downstream relief valves are set higher than that, there is a real posibility of pump case failure due to thin wall castings. Utility pumps, such as are available at Northern Tool and other retailers, have much thicker castings and are not as prone to self destruction at much higher pressures. Industrial pumps with the same capacities as P/S pumps, by comparison, are massive.

You and I know this without thinking about it, Keith. Many others do not and could get into trouble with the wrong relief settings.