Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

any value to mid mount sickle bar mower?

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 fort apache OFFLINE  

fort apache

Tractorholic

• Member No: 7817
  • 15 Thanks
  • 137 posts

Posted December 30, 2011 - 04:12 PM

I'm new in this game. I just bought a Powerking, but I know little about any other garden tractors.

On a local website, a private seller is selling, among other implements for Sears Garden Tractors, a mid-mount sickle-bar mower.

No photos, sorry.

I might go look, since its close. I'm interested in the 3pt disk and plow (which I'm guessing is Cat 0). But I might pick up the mower if its the right price and has value. Maybe I could trade it or sell it.

Anyone give me a ballpark value or anything I should look for?

#2 Gibby OFFLINE  

Gibby

Tractorholic

• -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4886
  • 96 Thanks
  • 360 posts

Posted December 30, 2011 - 04:30 PM

Around here I see them go for $350 or so, sometimes less, sometimes more but $350 is avaerage. I got lucky and got mine for $100.
  • fort apache said thank you

#3 fort apache OFFLINE  

fort apache

Tractorholic

• 15 Thanks
  • 137 posts

Posted December 30, 2011 - 04:34 PM

Thanks. I'm going to call him and get the details and prices for the implements.

#4 Reverend Blair OFFLINE  

Reverend Blair

Tractorholic

• Member No: 1659
  • 501 Thanks
  • 952 posts

Posted December 30, 2011 - 04:50 PM

If you can get a sickle mower, my advice is to keep it and use it. Beautiful for long grass and tough weeds. It's the most used implement I have for my two wheeler, and I'd love to have one for the 420. They can be a little hard on cats though, so be careful.

#5 fort apache OFFLINE  

fort apache

Tractorholic

• 15 Thanks
  • 137 posts

Posted December 30, 2011 - 05:12 PM

Did your cat like those shiny flashy blades?