• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Dennis Cain OFFLINE  

Dennis Cain

• Member No: 7974
  • 0 Thanks
  • 12 posts

Posted December 29, 2011 - 12:22 PM

I'm new to this sport. I will be pulling in the stock class. Should I weld the end or just leave it alone

#2 tractorman604 OFFLINE  

tractorman604
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 683
  • 269 Thanks
  • 694 posts

Posted December 29, 2011 - 05:08 PM

Welcome to the site Dennis.I know some area's rules are once you do anything to your tractor,even welding rear ends they put you in the modified class.Just make sure to get a list of the rules in your area.
  • Dennis Cain said thank you

#3 junkman1946 OFFLINE  

junkman1946

• Member No: 4236
  • 6 Thanks
  • 19 posts

Posted December 29, 2011 - 07:44 PM

pchili is right. Locked rear ends in some clubs will knock you out of Stock Class. Butttttttttt-if you just take one or two shims out of each axle housing you will "tighten" up the rear a bit. Paying attention to things like tire pressure will give you the same results, and still be legal. You have to do this by trial and error, remove just enough shims so you can still move each axle independently.

Edited by junkman1946, December 29, 2011 - 07:45 PM.
typo

• Rick Brumback and Dennis Cain have said thanks

#4 Rick Brumback OFFLINE  

Rick Brumback

Tractorholic

• Member No: 4355
  • 19 Thanks
  • 124 posts

Posted December 30, 2011 - 01:34 PM

with our clun we can weld the spider gears or use lockers.we can also use a spool rearend.each club is different to be sure.we can run pro tires in all our stock classes.I doubt any club has a "true" stock class.

#5 Lauber1 OFFLINE  

Lauber1

DB restorer

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4926
  • 3,456 Thanks
  • 2,801 posts

Posted December 30, 2011 - 01:47 PM