Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

H14 Brake issue


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 TNUTZ OFFLINE  

TNUTZ

    New Member

  • New Member
  • Member No: 7884
  • 0 Thanks
  • 1 posts

Posted December 21, 2011 - 05:09 PM

New to the site. H14 owner for about 10 years now.. Recently ive been having issues starting it. I have to constantly press the brake slowly but if I dont get it I have to release it and try again to get it to start. Is it something simple or is there a way to bypass having to press the brake to start it??

#2 Bolens 1000 ONLINE  

Bolens 1000

    DR. Bolens

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7
  • 12,701 Thanks
  • 17,208 posts
  • Location: Western NY

Posted December 21, 2011 - 05:41 PM

First off, Welcome to the Forum! :wave:


Sounds like the brake interlock safety switch may need adjustment.... Here is the owner and operation manual for the H14.

http://sonnys_bolens...uals/H14-OM.pdf


The interlock switch adjustments are shown starting on page 14

We would love to see a few pictures of your Bolens when you get a chance :thumbs:

#3 Bruce Dorsi ONLINE  

Bruce Dorsi

    Old, but not dead -- yet!

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1525
  • 3,179 Thanks
  • 2,148 posts
  • Location: New Jersey

Posted December 21, 2011 - 06:09 PM

Is it something simple or is there a way to bypass having to press the brake to start it??


As Brian said, sometimes it is just an adjustment. .....Other times it is a switch failing and needs replacement.

If you are not concerned with eliminating this safety feature, you can disconnect the connector from the switch and make a jumper that goes across the two terminals of the connector. .....Make sure you insulate your connections so that they can not contact a ground.

#4 JDBrian OFFLINE  

JDBrian

    Super Moderator

  • Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2507
  • 9,574 Thanks
  • 14,136 posts
  • Location: Hubley, Nova Scotia - Canada

Posted December 21, 2011 - 07:37 PM

Welcome to GTTalk TNUTZ. As others have said sounds like an interlock switch problem. Good luck getting it sorted out.

#5 Jehtro OFFLINE  

Jehtro

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 3300
  • 109 Thanks
  • 276 posts
  • Location: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada

Posted December 22, 2011 - 08:24 AM

I rewired mine and bypassed all the interlock safety switches, Let me know if you want the "modified" wiring diagram.




Top