Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay

Photo
- - - - -

uh-oh, lots of brake fluid on the ground!?!??

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 saintb OFFLINE  

saintb

• Member No: 5374
  • 0 Thanks
  • 23 posts

Posted December 19, 2011 - 10:50 PM

I removed my rear-wheels to add Rim-Guard and found a large amount of fluid under the left hub the morning after. https://picasaweb.go...914213343522498

I am a newbie, but am guessing this isn't supposed to happen. :wallbanging:

What is the most likely cause of this failure?

thanks in advance

#2 mikebramel OFFLINE  

mikebramel

Ron Paul

• Member No: 82
  • 176 Thanks
  • 1,009 posts

Posted December 19, 2011 - 10:56 PM

I think your brakes are mechanical, not hydraulic. If it is leaking from under the drum I would assume an axle seal
  • saintb said thank you

#3 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

• Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,464 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts

Posted December 20, 2011 - 12:20 AM

First off, I hadn't seen any of your earlier posts so I want to WELCOME you to GTtalk, :wave:glad you found us..

Mike is right, from what I can see in the photo. It appears to be a late 300 Series JD and those models all had mechanical brakes. You have an axle seal leaking. you can change them out fairly easily. Do you have a service manual for your tractor. If not, post what model tractor it is and someone maybe can help you locate a manual. Here is where you can post your inquiry about a manual.

http://gardentractor...-manuals-10660/

I hope this helps...:smile1:
  • saintb said thank you

#4 Lauber1 OFFLINE  

Lauber1

DB restorer

• Super Moderator
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 4926
  • 3,456 Thanks
  • 2,801 posts

Posted December 20, 2011 - 01:45 AM