Jump to content

Nominations for Tractor of the Month
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

gt 16 with a 3hp briggs motor


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 mixedbreed96 OFFLINE  

mixedbreed96

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 7095
  • 11 Thanks
  • 167 posts
  • Location: Hanover PA

Posted December 18, 2011 - 02:39 AM

i am in the proccess of buying a sears gt 16 with no motor and was wondering if i could use a 3hp briggs motor on it. heres the link to motor Briggs & Stratton engine

#2 GTTinkerer OFFLINE  

GTTinkerer

    GT Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1564
  • 1,153 Thanks
  • 1,326 posts
  • Location: Mancelona, MI

Posted December 18, 2011 - 07:03 AM

Anything is possible with enough "adapters", money and fabrication skills. My question is; Why? And I am sure that the answer will be; Why not?

#3 Kyocum OFFLINE  

Kyocum

    Member

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 6171
  • 280 Thanks
  • 403 posts
  • Location: Central N.Y.

Posted December 18, 2011 - 08:58 AM

With a little will make it fit it would work. I think it would be very underpowered unless it is just gonna be a ride on only machine. I guess I would hold out for a bigger mill but that's just me.

#4 Gtractor ONLINE  

Gtractor

    The Tractor Hoarder

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 782
  • 6,625 Thanks
  • 3,917 posts
  • Location: Chillicothe, MO

Posted December 18, 2011 - 10:17 AM

There is a guy around here close that has a Sears Suburban with a K91 Kohler 4 horsepower. Been pulling with it for years. The very first time he backed up to the sled people were laughing at him but they didn't laugh very long.

#5 mixedbreed96 OFFLINE  

mixedbreed96

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 7095
  • 11 Thanks
  • 167 posts
  • Location: Hanover PA

Posted December 18, 2011 - 01:25 PM

well decided to do it, trading some stuff to get the tractor and motor. let the work begin! since this is a pull start motor, i do not need a battery, and wires right???

#6 Lovintractorin OFFLINE  

Lovintractorin

    Tinkerer

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Member No: 4180
  • 159 Thanks
  • 603 posts
  • Location: Mostly in my Jeep

Posted December 18, 2011 - 01:46 PM

No battery necessary and no wires unless you want to kill the engine from the seat.

#7 mixedbreed96 OFFLINE  

mixedbreed96

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 7095
  • 11 Thanks
  • 167 posts
  • Location: Hanover PA

Posted December 18, 2011 - 02:18 PM

thanks tucker!

#8 johnboggs21 OFFLINE  

johnboggs21

    Tractorholic

  • Senior Member
  • Member No: 4084
  • 18 Thanks
  • 184 posts
  • Location: MI

Posted December 18, 2011 - 09:02 PM

I plowed snow for a few years with a murray lawn tractor I had stuck a little 4 horse on. With enough thought you can make anything work!

#9 plowboy OFFLINE  

plowboy

    TRACTOROLOGIST

  • Senior Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7340
  • 133 Thanks
  • 229 posts
  • Location: NY

Posted December 19, 2011 - 09:06 AM

i never under estimate the power of anything. let me see it do somethin then i'll tell ya what i think. if the 3hp is what u want i say do er up! im just curious why tho? is there a specific reason for the 3?




Top