Jump to content

Time to Vote for Tractor of the Month!
Garden Tractors and Parts on eBay



Photo
- - - - -

Mcafee


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 drbish ONLINE  

drbish

    Collecter

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2544
  • 1,278 Thanks
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: Mooresville,NC

Posted December 12, 2011 - 05:57 PM

over the last couple days i have gotten 2 warnings from mcafee that potentially harmfull something or another has been blocked from your cumputer. one of the times i was sent to microsoft and had the option to let them no this was a trusted site or not.I have also noticed some adds have not being shown.Just a blank ad with a O with a red /thru it.Any one else having this problem?After proof reading after the fact this has occurred on this forum

#2 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,274 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2011 - 06:05 PM

Is it the google ads that are showing the problem?

#3 MH81 ONLINE  

MH81

    Proud to be Deplorable

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 802
  • 28,390 Thanks
  • 29,104 posts
  • Location: N. W. PA

Posted December 12, 2011 - 07:08 PM

I won't even type that name on my keyboard, that's how far I keep that product from my PC. I really sounds like you got a malware, Trojan, or a bunch of spyware. I put "SuperAntiSpyware free" on my computers and run it weekly. Big help... Rarely do I get much on them. I use Antivir as my main antivirus.

#4 drbish ONLINE  

drbish

    Collecter

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2544
  • 1,278 Thanks
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: Mooresville,NC

Posted December 12, 2011 - 07:12 PM

that is what i am thinking it is the google adds,i have used mcaffee for a long time,and have no problems with virus or trojans,i have the free one from att onmy other hard drive on this computer i have avast and my other computer i also have avastno problems on any off them iwas just wondering why i get this blocking

#5 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,274 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2011 - 07:14 PM

that is what i am thinking it is the google adds


Does it do it on any other sites?

#6 drbish ONLINE  

drbish

    Collecter

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2544
  • 1,278 Thanks
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: Mooresville,NC

Posted December 12, 2011 - 07:21 PM

http://cdn-www.sitea...blockedIcon.png this is one i just got that was blocked

#7 drbish ONLINE  

drbish

    Collecter

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2544
  • 1,278 Thanks
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: Mooresville,NC

Posted December 12, 2011 - 07:24 PM

no i have not noticed it on any other sites

#8 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,274 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2011 - 07:30 PM

I will try and look in to it. Is it only one ad and other ads show or does it block all ads at that particular location?

#9 drbish ONLINE  

drbish

    Collecter

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 2544
  • 1,278 Thanks
  • 1,209 posts
  • Location: Mooresville,NC

Posted December 12, 2011 - 07:37 PM

it is just random adds,the next time i get one i will allow it to show blocked images and see what add or adds it is,i can run a scan after words if i need to,i would say 9 out of ten adds show up fine

#10 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,274 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 12, 2011 - 07:43 PM

it is just random adds,the next time i get one i will allow it to show blocked images and see what add or adds it is,i can run a scan after words if i need to,i would say 9 out of ten adds show up fine


If you could do that, that would be great. I think I can block that companies ads from being shown then somehow.

#11 Texas Deere and Horse OFFLINE  

Texas Deere and Horse

    RED Wild Hogs, Horses & Deeres

  • Staff Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 1435
  • 14,468 Thanks
  • 15,392 posts
  • Location: East of San Antonio Texas

Posted December 12, 2011 - 10:55 PM

I swore by McAfee for years. Last couple years I have had several infections that McAllowee didn't see and their site didn't post anything about them until a few weeks after others had removal updates out. I won't trust them ever again. I also run "SuperAntiSpyware free Version" and "Stopzilla" haven't had anymore problems.

#12 kb0nly OFFLINE  

kb0nly

    Member

  • Member
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 7469
  • 18 Thanks
  • 63 posts

Posted December 12, 2011 - 11:47 PM

McAfee is one that i have stayed far far away from. Too many issues, system slowdowns, etc. I have been running Avast for a couple years, i was AVG a few years before that. I used to use Norton once upon a time until they became overbloated and slow.

#13 HDWildBill OFFLINE  

HDWildBill

    Freedom is not Free. Thank those in uniform for your freedom.

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 6354
  • 8,891 Thanks
  • 8,634 posts
  • Location: Ga

Posted December 13, 2011 - 08:29 AM

In another post I told about a friend who got infected, AT&T McAfee was installed on that system and it didn't stop the infection. I don't believe there is any one suite / package that can blog all the garbage out there.

New Restore I would get one of the free Malware programs like spybot and run it on your system to make sure it is clean. Also make sure your virus definition file is up to date.

#14 ducky OFFLINE  

ducky

    Senior Member

  • Senior Member
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 564
  • 1,876 Thanks
  • 4,034 posts
  • Location: Freedom, WI

Posted December 13, 2011 - 09:13 AM

I have been using MSE on the laptops at work and had good luck with it. Also works well behind the scene also so it is not confusing the service techs that are not so computer literate. Sure did cut down on the phone support.
Just My 2 cents worth.
If you think you have something now do like Bill mentioned and run Spybot or one of the other free Malware programs and you should find it.

#15 NUTNDUN OFFLINE  

NUTNDUN

    Lost in Cyber Space

  • Admin
  • Staff
  • -GTt Supporter-
  • Contributor
  • Member No: 3
  • 10,274 Thanks
  • 15,618 posts
  • Location: Pennsylvania

Posted December 13, 2011 - 12:11 PM

The part I am trying to figure out is if he is only having trouble with one ad that shows from google ads only here at gttalk I would like to figure out why. Google is a trusted source for advertising and this is the first time anything has been mentioned about something being flagged. I don't know if it is McAfee being overzealous or if it is the actual ad that is triggering it. If it is the latter I would like to try and get it blocked.




Top